The Department of Consumer Affairs under Ministry of Consumer Affairs, Food and PD is responsible for the formulation of policies for Consumer Cooperatives, Monitoring Prices, Consumer Movement in the country and Controlling of statutory bodies like Bureau of Indian Standards (BIS) and Weights and Measures.

(Sponsored by Deptt. of Consumer Affairs, Govt. of India)
TOLL FREE NO. 1800-11-4000
TOLL NO. 011-23708391(5 Line ) (Normal call charges apply)
SMS No. 8130009809(24 Hrs.)
You can also log in your complaints at www.nationalconsumerhelpline.in
                            or   www.core.nic.in



  National Conference on Consumer Rights held on 18th March, 2015 at Vigyan Bhawan, New Delhi.-Photos   Outcome

Stakeholders' Meeting on Consumer Protection Act Amendment held on 24 November 2014, IIPA, New Delhi.

Conference on Increase in Food Prices 4th July 2014, Vigyan Bhawan, New Delhi.------ Photos    Press Release     Minutes

          A short film (UDAAN) on the initiatives & achievements of the Ministry of Consumer Affairs , Food and Public Distribution

          A short film (NAYA DAUR) on the performance  & achievements of the Ministry of Consumer Affairs , Food and Public Distribution

Proposed Amendment to Consumer Protection Act, 1986 and Bureau of Indian Standards(BIS)      Draft Regulation regarding appearance of non-advocates in Consumer Fora        Gazette Notification dated 13th Feburary,2014 regarding regulations issued by NCDRC            Rajiv Gandhi National Award For Voluntary Consumer Organizations         The Theme of National Consumer Day for the year 2014  " Empowering Consumers-Universality of Consumer Rights"   The Essential Commodities (Amendment ) Bill, 2014


NCH Toll Free No 1800-11-4000 (for MTNL & BSNL) and 1800-180-4566 (for Core)
Consumer Rights
Right to safety | Right to be informed | Right to choose | Right to heard
Right to redressal | Right to Consumer Education


After including the amendments made vide the Consumer Protection (Amendment) Act, 2002 [62 of 2002] which was passed by Rajya Sabha on 11.4.2002